Sunday, November 14, 2010

Rumour Cubes + Free Album Download

Listening to London, England based instrumental rock group Rumour Cubes is like watching shadows waltz in crystal blue pools of beautiful music. Grabbing influences from post-modern giants such as Explosions in the Sky, Mogwai, and Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Joe Bartlett (bass), Siew Cottis (viola), Hannah Morgan (violin), Omar Rahwangi (drums), Adam Stark (guitar, electronics) and Simon Stark (guitar, electronics) construct surreal, multilayered pieces that reveal something new to the ear after each rewind.

After forming in 2009, the band completed and released their debut EP, We Have Sound Houses Also, in September of this year. Taking advantage of new internet promotional avenues, Rumour Cubes is offering a free download of their three track EP on their bandcamp website, as well as a physical option that comes in a beautifully designed case made from recycled material and includes an A3 poster.

The first cut from the record, The University is a Factory, is a slow building ship full of paranoia sailing through seas of glimmering guitars, splashing cymbals, and bubbling bass before it hits the perfect storm and rocks out of control through waves of heavy electric chords and violin stabs. This epic opener sets the precedent for the rest of the EP and puts this relatively unknown band from London in the same ranks as the celebrated musicians they look up to.

Click Here to Listen to Rumour Cubes on!

  • Stumble This
  • Fav This With Technorati
  • Add To
  • Digg This
  • Add To Facebook
  • Add To Yahoo


Post a Comment

Copyright 2010 BlogSoup