Thursday, September 1, 2011

Free Album: The Big Mean Sound Machine- Ourubros

Ithaca's The Big Mean Sound Machine is a 10 piece ensemble that fuses elements of afrobeat, garage rock, funk, jazz, and dub rhythms to provide western New York with some of the dirtiest, fattest, grooviest beats ever heard. Seamed together by an amazing rhythm section of Angelo Peters on Bass, Andrew Klein on Drums, Bryan Davis on Percussion, Rob Tate on Organs, and Dan Barker on Guitars, the core of the group commands attention while providing a passionate and constant groove. Combine that with the talents of Bobby Spellman on Trumpet, Emily Pecoraro on Tenor Sax, and Remy Kunstler on Bari Sax, and you have polyrhythmic monster.

Known for their passionate and exhilarating live performances, TBMSM have been genre-bending together since early 2010 and have so far released LIVE @ Castaways, The Big Mean EP, Tongue Power Single, and most recently, their debut full length album Ourubros. If their other free releases merely remained local treasures, then it's Ourubros that will give them the global admiration they deserve. This 10-track opus flows seamlessly from start to finish, mixing all the elements that TBMSM claim to cultivate in all their music into one sublime and hearty sound stew.

Below you can find the free download of their new album Ourubros.

Favorite tracks: Drunk & Crying, Tongue Power, A Grain of Sand.

  • Stumble This
  • Fav This With Technorati
  • Add To
  • Digg This
  • Add To Facebook
  • Add To Yahoo


Post a Comment

Copyright 2010 BlogSoup